EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE Directing Duo Wins At 75th Directors Guild (AWARDS 2022)

Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert become the Oscar favorites after winning the top prize at the 75th Directors Guild of America awards.

Everything Everywhere All At Once is on the cusp of living up to its title during the final push to Oscar night.

Already ever-present this awards season, the critically-acclaimed indie multiverse hit took the first major industry guild prize in the sprint to the Academy Awards.

EEAAO directors Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert won the feature film prize at the 75th Annual Directors Guild of America awards. The win alone makes them the favorite to win the Best Director Oscar, as the DGA and Academy winners almost always match up.

The next two major guild precursors — Producers and Screen Actors — will be awarded next weekend, and EEAAO is a favorite in both. The Producers award is a Best Picture equivalent, and at the Screen Actors honors Ke Huy Quan is a lock for Supporting Actor, Michelle Yeoh is in a dead-heat with TAR‘s Cate Blanchett, and EEAAO is the frontrunner for the guild’s Cast award.

If EEAAO completes a sweep of Directors, Producers and Screen Actors Guild awards and then adds a Writers Guild honor for good measure, it will be an unstoppable juggernaut come Oscar night, Sunday March 12.

The 75th Annual DGA Awards — honoring directorial achievement for the screen in 2022 — were held on Saturday, February 18, 2023 at The Beverly Hills Hilton Hotel.

Directors Guild of America
2022 Feature Film Winners
and Nominees

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Theatrical Feature Film
Winner: Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert, Everything Everywhere All At Once

Outstanding Directorial Achievement for a First-Time Feature Film Director
Winner: Charlotte Wells, Aftersun

  • Alice Diop, Saint Omer
  • Audrey Diwan, Happening
  • John Patton Ford, Emily the Criminal
  • Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović, Murina

Outstanding Directorial Achievement in Documentaries
Winner: Sara Dosa, Fire of Love

  • Matthew Heineman, Retrograde
  • Laura Poitras, All the Beauty and the Bloodshed
  • Daniel Roher, Navalny
  • Shaunak Sen , All That Breathes

Lifetime Achievement Award (for distinguished achievement in television direction): Robert Fishman

Frank Capra Achievement Award (given to an Assistant Director or Unit Production Manager for career achievement): Mark Hansson, First Assistant Director

Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award (given to an Associate Director or Stage Manager for service to the industry and the DGA): Valdez Flagg, Stage Manager


Click on links below for other major Critics Group Awards and Guild Nominees that have been announced so far for the 2022 / 23 season:

The 95th Academy Award Nominations
Writers Guild of America Nominees
Producers Guild of America Nominees
Screen Actors Guild Awards Nominees
Golden Globe Winners
Chicago Film Critics Association
Los Angeles Film Critics Association
American Film Institute Top 10 Films of 2022
National Board of Review
New York Film Critics Circle

Leave a Reply