EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE and TÁR Tie For Best Film From L.A. Film Crix (AWARDS 2022)

TÁR lead the pack in the Los Angeles Film Critics Association’s 2022 awards as it tied EVERYTHING EVERYWHERE ALL AT ONCE for Best Film.

In the first year of non-gendered acting categories, female-powered movies won big at the Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards.

In a rare tie, indie sensation Everything Everywhere All At Once and art house critical darling TÁR shared the title as Best Film of 2022.

TÁR filmmaker Todd Field won both Best Director and Screenplay honors as his movie — starring Cate Blanchett as a world-renowned orchestra conductor in personal crisis — was tops with the LAFCA. It won four awards in total and was also cited as Runner-Up for Best Editing.

For the first time, the LAFCA eliminated its four Actor and Actress prizes (Lead and Supporting for each gender) and reduced them to two non-gendered categories, Best Lead Performances and Supporting Performers. Note the plural in both, as two performers were cited as winners in each.

Despite the politically-correct ploy, the cis-gendered results of past years were repeated as if nothing had changed. In both categories, male and female actors shared the honors. Cate Blanchett for TÁR and Bill Nighy for Living were named the Best Lead Performances of 2022 while Supporting Performer winners were Dolly de Leon for Triangle of Sadness and Ke Huy Quan for Everything Everywhere All At Once.

Winners will be honored at an awards banquet ceremony on January 14, 2023.

For the full list of winners and runners-up from this year’s Los Angeles Film Critics Association, read below.

2022 Awards

Best Picture:
Everything Everywhere All At Once and TÁR (tie)

Best Director: Todd Field, TÁR
S.S. Rajamouli, RRR

Best Lead Performances: Cate Blanchett, TÁR and Bill Nighy, Living
Runners-up: Danielle Deadwyler, Till and Michelle Yeoh, Everything Everywhere All At Once

Best Supporting Performers: Dolly de Leon, Triangle of Sadness and Ke Huy Quan, Everything Everywhere All At Once
Runners-up: Jessie Buckley, Women Talking and Brian Tyree Henry, Causeway

Best Animated Film: Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio
Runner-up: Marcel the Shell With Shoes On

Best International Film: EO (Poland)
Runner-up: Saint Omer (France)

Best Documentary/Non-Fiction: All The Beauty and the Bloodshed
Runner-up: Fire of Love

Best Screenplay: TÁR, Todd Field
Runner-up: The Banshees of Inisherin, Martin McDonagh

Best Editing: Aftersun, Blair McClendon
Runner-up:  TÁR, Monika Willi

Best Production Design: Avatar: The Way of Water, Dylan Cole and Ben Procter
Runner-up: Everything Everywhere All At OnceJason Kisvarday

Best Music/Score:  RRR, M.M. Keeravani
Runner-up: EO, Paweł Mykietyn

Best Cinematography:  EO, Michał Dymek
Runner-up: Nope, Hoyte van Hoytema

New Generation Prize: Davy Chou and Park Ji-Min, Return to Seoul

The Douglas Edwards Experimental Film Award: De Humani Corporis Fabrica

Career Achievement Award: Claire Denis


Click on links below for other major Critics Group Awards and Guild Nominees that have been announced so far for the 2022 / 23 season:

The 95th Academy Award Nominations
Producers Guild of America Nominees
Directors Guild of America Nominees
Screen Actors Guild Awards Nominees
Golden Globe Winners
Chicago Film Critics Association
American Film Institute Top 10 Films of 2022
National Board of Review
New York Film Critics Circle

Leave a Reply