Dallas Critics Honor Sam Mendes WWI Epic 1917 (AWARDS 2019)

Wars of two kinds — global and domestic — dominated the 2019 Film Awards from the Dallas-Fort Worth Film Critics Association.

Sam Mendes‘ so-called “one take” war movie 1917 (it’s actually two simulated takes, not one single feature-length illusion) took home 4 awards including the two top honors: Best Film and Best Director (for Mendes). It also won for Roger Deakins‘ feat of cinematography and Thomas Newman‘s sweeping music score.

Meanwhile, Netflix’s divorce drama Marriage Story also won 4 awards, but for being an actor’s showcase rather than an ambitious technical achievement. Stars Adam Driver and Scarlett Johansson were named Best Actor and Actress while Laura Dern picked up her umpteenth award for Best Supporting Actress. Ditto for Brad Pitt as Best Supporting Actor for Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood.

In total, 1917 and Marriage Story accounted for 8 of DFW’s 13 awards, leaving 5 other films to divvy up the five remaining citations.

2019 Awards

Best Film:

Best Director: Sam Mendes, 1917

Best Actor: Adam Driver, Marriage Story

Best Actress: Scarlett Johansson, Marriage Story

Best Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt, Once Upon A Time…In Hollywood

Best Supporting Actress: Laura Dern, Marriage Story 

Best Animated Film: Toy Story 4

Best Foreign Language Film: Parasite (South Korea)

Best Documentary: Apollo 11

Best Screenplay: Marriage Story, Noah Baumbach

Best Cinematography: 1917, Roger Deakins 

Best Musical Score: 1917, Thomas Newman

The Russell Smith Award (best low-budget or cutting-edge independent film):
The Lighthouse
(dir. Robert Eggers)

Click on links below for other Critics Group Awards and Guild Nominees that have been announced so far for the 2019 / 20 season:

Screen Actors Guild Award Winners
Producers Guild of America Winners
Critics’ Choice Awards Winners
Directors Guild of America Nominations
Writers Guild of America Nominations
Golden Globe Winners
National Society of Film Critics
Boston Society of Film Critics
Oklahoma Film Critics Circle
Los Angeles Film Critics Association
AFI American Film Institute Awards
New York Film Critics Circle
National Board of Review
Atlanta Film Critics Circle

Leave a Reply