Atlanta Critics Choose PARASITE To Launch Awards Season (AWARDS 2019)

Well this is new.

For the first time in memory, the annual awards season doesn’t begin with The National Board of Review. That’s thanks to the upstarts down in Atlanta.

Traditionally, the NBR and the New York Film Critics Circle have been the opening 1-2 salvo that kicks off the onslaught of critics groups. But this year, the Atlanta Film Critics Circle jump to the head of the line with their announcement on Monday, December 2, of their choices for the best films, performances, and artistic achievements for 2019.

Parasite is the big winner. It was named Best Film of 2019, and its helmer Bong Joon-ho was cited as Best Director. He and co-writer Han Jin Woo also won for Best Screenplay. This acclaimed suspense thriller from South Korea about class disparity took the top prize at this summer’s Cannes Film Festival and has been a critical favorite since.

There are few surprise appearances on the list, although the biggest notable omission is a complete shutout for Joker, a film that didn’t even make the cut for the group’s Top 10. Joaquin Phoenix is the most likely Oscar contender from that unexpected blockbuster, but the ATL crix went with Adam Driver as Best Actor for Marriage Story instead.

Jojo Rabbit and Ford V Ferrari are other possible Oscar players that were ignored, but their absence here isn’t entirely surprising.

The rest of the winners fall in line with current expectations for Oscar contenders, including tech award winners for Cinematography and Score from Sam Mendes‘ “one take” World War I drama 1917. DP Roger Deakins and composer Thomas Newman won those respective honors.

Here’s the full list of winners. NBR will announce tomorrow, with NYFCC to follow.

2019 Awards

Best Film:  Parasite

TOP 10 2019 FILMS
1. Parasite
2. The Irishman
3. Marriage Story
4. Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood
5. 1917
6. Little Women
7. Uncut Gems
8. Knives Out
9. Pain and Glory
10. Apollo 11

Best Director: Bong Joon-ho, Parasite
Best Actor: Adam Driver, Marriage Story
Best Actress: Renée Zellweger, Judy
Best Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt, Once Upon a Time…in Hollywood
Best Supporting Actress: Laura Dern, Marriage Story
Best Ensemble: The Irishman
Best Screenplay: Parasite, Bong Joon-ho and Han Jin Woo
Best Animated Film: Toy Story 4
Best International Film:  Parasite, South Korea
Best Documentary:  Apollo 11
Best Cinematography: Roger Deakins, 1917
Best Original Score: Thomas Newman, 1917
AFCC Special Award for Breakthrough Peformer: 
Kelvin Harrison Jr. for Luce and Waves
AFCC Special Award for Best First Film: Olivia Wilde, Booksmart

Click on links below for other Critics Group Awards and Guild Nominees that have been announced so far for the 2019 / 20 season:

Screen Actors Guild Award Winners
Producers Guild of America Winners
Academy Award Nominations
Critics’ Choice Awards Winners
Directors Guild of America Nominations
Writers Guild of America Nominations
Golden Globe Winners
National Society of Film Critics
Dallas-Forth Worth Film Critics Association
Boston Society of Film Critics
Oklahoma Film Critics Circle
Los Angeles Film Critics Association
AFI American Film Institute Awards
New York Film Critics Circle
National Board of Review

Leave a Reply