Boston Critics Pull On PHANTOM THREAD For Best Film (AWARDS 2017)


The 2017 Oscar Season continues to morph and change.

What first appeared to be a race focusing on The Post, Lady Bird, Call Me By Your Name, and The Shape of Water as the main Best Picture contenders has now expanded.

The Boston Society of Film Critics has added Paul Thomas Anderson‘s Phantom Thread to the mix by naming it the year’s Best Film. This follows the D.C. Critics who recently cited Get Out as their Best Pic choice.

Boston also tagged Anderson as Best Director, his first notice this year in that category, for his 1950s tale of an obsessive clothing designer, played by Daniel Day-Lewis.

Guillermo del Toro‘s The Shape of Water was the runner-up in both the Picture and Director categories, while his lead Sally Hawkins won another Best Actress prize. That category remains very competitive, one that now also includes Phantom Thread‘s Vicky Krieps; she was Boston’s runner-up choice to Hawkins.

The BSFC broke from the season’s trends in the Best Actor category as well, possibly helping the lead from Get Out to get in – to the Academy Awards, that is. Daniel Kaluuya, the newcomer in the horror racism allegory Get Out, was won that Actor prize; it’s his first win of the season, boosting his Oscar prospects.

The relevant thriller’s writer/director Jordan Peele took the org’s Best New Filmmaker prize, but lost to Greta Gerwig‘s Lady Bird for Best Screenplay.

Willem Dafoe and Laurie Metcalf remain the odds-on favorites in the Supporting Actor/Actress categories as they each notch another wins for their movies, respectively, The Florida Project and Lady Bird.

Here are the BSFC’s full list of winners and runners-up.

2017 Awards

Best Film: Phantom Thread
Runner Up: The Shape of Water

Best Director: Paul Thomas Anderson, Phantom Thread
Runner Up: Guillermo del Toro, The Shape of Water

Best Actor: Daniel Kaluuya, Get Out
Runner Up: Timothée Chalamet, Call Me By Your Name

Best Actress: Sally Hawkins, The Shape of Water
Runner Up: Vicky Krieps, Phantom Thread

Best Supporting Actor: Willem Dafoe, The Florida Project
Runner Up: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Runner Up: Allison Janney, I, Tonya

Best Screenplay: Lady Bird, Greta Gerwig
Runner Up: Get Out, Jordan Peele

Best Ensemble Cast: The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)
Runner Up: BPM (Beats Per Minute)

Best Animated Film: Coco
Runner Up: Loving Vincent

Best Foreign-Language Film (awarded in memory of Jay Carr): The Square, Sweden
Runner Up: BPM (Beats Per Minute), France

Best Documentary: Dawson City: Frozen Time
Runner Up: Faces Places

Best Cinematography: Dunkirk, Hoyte Van Hoytema
Runner Up: Blade Runner 2049, Roger Deakins

Best Editing (awarded in memory of Karen Schmeer): A Ghost Story, David Lowry
Runner Up: I, Tonya, Tatiana Riegel

Best Original Score: Phantom Thread, Jonny Greenwood
Runner Up: TIE
Dawson City: Frozen Time, Alex Somers
The Shape of Water, Alexandre Desplat

Best New Filmmaker (awarded in memory of David Brudnoy): Jordan Peele, Get Out

Click on links below for other Critics Group Awards and Guild Nominees that have been announced so far for the 2017 / 18 season:

Golden Globe Winners
National Society of Film Critics
Producers Guild of America nominees
Writers Guild of America nominees
Oklahoma Film Critics Circle
Chicago Film Critics Association
Screen Actors Guild Nominations
Atlanta Film Critics Circle
San Diego Film Critics Society
Philadelphia Film Critics Circle
Toronto Film Critics Association
San Francisco Film Critics Circle
Washington D.C. Film Critics Association
AFI Top 10 of 2017
Critics Choice Awards Nominations
Los Angeles Film Critics Association
New York Film Critics Circle
The National Board of Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s