D.C. Critics Shake Up Awards Season, Name GET OUT Best Film (AWARDS 2017)


For the first time this awards season, Get Out has emerged from The Sunken Place.

More importantly, by naming Get Out the Best Film of 2017, the Washington D.C. Area Film Critics Association stepped outside the trending convention of limiting the top honor to the trio of The Post, Call Me By Your Name, or Lady Bird, or even other likely favorites such as The Shape of Water and Dunkirk.

Prior to this surprise, Get Out had been limited to wins for Best Original Screenplay (which it also won here) and Best First Film for debut director Jordan Peele.

Dunkirk, which has made it on to a few Top 10 group lists, received its biggest single distinction of the early awards season so far: Christopher Nolan was named Best Director. Fall Festival favorite Gary Oldman also belatedly nabbed his first Best Actor honor as Winston Churchill in Darkest Hour, while Laurie Metcalf picked up her third Best Supporting Actress award for Lady Bird.

Perhaps the biggest surprise came in the Best Supporting Actor category where, for the first time this year, Willem Dafoe did not win for The Florida Project. Instead, it went to Sam Rockwell‘s racist drunk cop in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

In fact, with other wins including Best Actress Frances McDormand and Best Acting Ensemble, Three Billboards won the most top honors with 3. Blade Runner 2049 tied that total in the tech categories.

By favoring Get Out and Three Billboards, the D.C. critics – perhaps unsurprisingly – took a political bent with their top choices, citing films emblematic of the #BlackLivesMatter and #MeToo movements (respectively). That said, it’s a bit shocking that the group from Washington D.C. didn’t go all in for the The Post, limiting it to just one honorary citation.

The D.C. Critics also became the first group of the season to completely snub the gay romance Oscar contender Call Me By Your Name.

2017 Awards

Best Film: Get Out
Best Director: Christopher Nolan, Dunkirk
Best Actor: Gary Oldman, Darkest Hour
Best Actress: Frances McDormand, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Best Supporting Actor: Sam Rockwell, Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Best Supporting Actress: Laurie Metcalf, Lady Bird
Best Acting Ensemble: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
Best Youth Performance: Brooklynn Prince, The Florida Project
Best Voice Performance: Anthony Gonzalez, Coco
Best Motion Capture Performance: Andy Serkis, War for the Planet of the Apes
Best Adapted Screenplay: Virgil Williams and Dee Rees, Mudbound
Best Original Screenplay: Jordan Peele, Get Out
Best Animated Feature: Coco
Best DocumentaryJane
Best Foreign Language Film: BPM (Beats Per Minute), France
Best Production Design: Blade Runner 2049, Dennis Gassner and Alessandra Querzola
Best Cinematography: Blade Runner 2049, Roger Deakins
Best Editing: Baby Driver, Paul Machliss and Jonathan Amos
Best Original Score: Blade Runner 2049, Hans Zimmer and Benjamin Wallfisch
The Joe Barber Award for Best Portrayal of Washington, DC: The Post

Click on links below for other Critics Group Awards and Guild Nominees that have been announced so far for the 2017 / 18 season:

90th Annual Academy Award nominees
Writers Guild of America winners
Directors Guild of America winners
Screen Actors Guild winners
Producers Guild of America winners
Critics Choice Awards winners
Golden Globe Winners
National Society of Film Critics
Oklahoma Film Critics Circle
Chicago Film Critics Association
Atlanta Film Critics Circle
San Diego Film Critics Society
Philadelphia Film Critics Circle
Toronto Film Critics Association
San Francisco Film Critics Circle
Boston Society of Film Critics
AFI Top 10 of 2017
Los Angeles Film Critics Association
New York Film Critics Circle
The National Board of Review

Leave a Reply