WRITERS GUILD Noms Marked By Big Exclusions (AWARDS 2015)

There’s a lot of big Oscar contenders missing from The Writers Guild of America’s list of Best Screenplay nominees…but then that’s par for the course, given the guild’s extremely picky rules (nominees must be guild members, must be working under their jurisdiction, etc.).

Quentin Tarantino, for example, hasn’t been eligible for years (he’s not a guild member), yet while he doesn’t get WGA nominations he’s still gone on to win multiple Screenplay Oscars. So as Academy predictors go, these nominations (and winners) are more spotty than the other professional guilds.

Several 2015 Oscar contenders not WGA eligible: original screenplays The Hateful Eight, Inside Out, and Ex Machina, along with adapted scripts for Mad Max: Fury Road, Room, The Danish Girl, and Brooklyn.

Screenplay Nominees


  • Bridge of Spies, Matt Charman and Ethan Coen & Joel Coen
  • Sicario, Taylor Sheridan
  • Spotlight, Josh Singer & Tom McCarthy
  • Straight Outta Compton, Jonathan Herman and Andrea Berloff; Story by S. Leigh Savidge & Alan Wenkus and Andrea Berloff
  • Trainwreck, Amy Schumer


  • The Big Short, Charles Randolph and Adam McKay; Based on the Book by Michael Lewis
  • Carol, Phyllis Nagy; Based on the Novel “The Price of Salt” by Patricia Highsmith
  • The Martian, Drew Goddard; Based on the Novel by Andy Weir
  • Steve Jobs, Aaron Sorkin; Based on the Book by Walter Isaacson
  • Trumbo, John McNamara; Based on the Biography by Bruce Cook

Among eligible films, Joy and WGA favorite David O’Russell was bypassed in the original category (likely a huge tell that the film overall won’t see many – if any – Oscar nominations), while The Revenant failed to make the cut in adapted.

The 68th annual WGA Awards will be handed out on Feb. 13 at simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles at the Century Plaza and New York City at the Edison Ballroom.

Leave a Reply