Washington, D.C. Critics: SPOTLIGHT Wins. Again. (AWARDS 2015)

Spotlight Poster
Spotlight is officially the Oscar front-runner.

The Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association gave the real-life drama its 3rd Best Film prize so far out of the 5 major critics groups that have announced. Spotlight also took Best Acting Ensemble. Meanwhile, fellow critics contender Mad Max: Fury Road picked up 3 wins from the D.C. gang, including Best Director for George Miller (his 2nd citation this season).

Actor Leonard DiCaprio and cinematographer Emmanuel Lubezki gave The Revenant its first major victories of the kudos rush (it’s directed by last year’s Oscar-winning Birdman director Alejandro González Iñárritu). Alicia Vikander notched another Supporting Actress win (for Ex Machina), increasing her likelihood for a nomination, and Idris Elba gave the Netflix original Beasts of No Nation a boost as the Supporting Actor winner.

Here’s the complete list.

2015 Awards

Best Film: Spotlight
Best Director: George Miller, Mad Max: Fury Road
Best Actor: Leonardo DiCaprio, The Revenant
Best Actress: Saoirse Ronan, Brooklyn
Best Supporting Actor: Idris Elba, Beasts of No Nation
Best Supporting Actress: Alicia Vikander, Ex Machina
Best Acting Ensemble: Spotlight
Best Youth Performance: Jacob Tremblay, Room
Best Adapted Screenplay: Emma Donoghue, Room
Best Original Screenplay: Pete Docter, Meg LeFauve and
Josh Cooley, Inside Out
Best Animated Feature: Inside Out
Best Documentary: Amy
Best Foreign Language Film: Son of Saul
Best Production Design: Colin Gibson (Production Designer) and
Lisa Thompson (Set Decorator), Mad Max: Fury Road
Best Cinematography: Emmanuel Lubezki, The Revenant
Best Editing: Margaret Sixel, Mad Max: Fury Road
Best Original Score: Johann Johannsson, Sicario

To see the other Critics Group lists, click on each link below:

National Board of Review
New York Film Critics Circle
Boston Society of Film Critics
Los Angeles Critics Association

One thought on “Washington, D.C. Critics: SPOTLIGHT Wins. Again. (AWARDS 2015)

Leave a Reply