Producers Guild Swoons For SHAPE OF WATER (AWARDS 2017)


The shape of the Oscar race curved towards water at the 29th Annual Producers Guild of America awards gala, giving the Darryl F. Zanuck top prize for Best Film to The Shape of Water.

It’s a producer-y pick as picks go, favoring a film with bigger production ambitions than smaller films can match. The Post and Dunkirk also fit that bill, but The Shape of Water has been garnered much more traction this awards season than those other two, plus director Guillermo del Toro was able to achieve a lavish look on a relatively meager budget of just under $20 million.

As far as being an Oscar predictor, that’s still very much up in the air. The PGA winner has gone on to win the Academy Award 19 out of the previous 28 times, but lately they’ve diverged. Last year is a perfect example: La La Land won both the Producers and Directors Guild but Moonlight surprised at the Oscars. The Shape of Water also lacks a Screen Actors Guild cast nomination, which further undercuts its chances.

Still, the fact that there are so many smaller films this year that could emerge (like Moonlight and Spotlight have the past two years) may actually play to Shape‘s favor. Lady Bird, Call Me By Your Name, and Get Out all fit that Moonlight archetype (small budget, socially relevant, beloved) but they could also ultimately split votes three ways leaving space for Shape or Three Billboards to split the seam.

The winners were announced during the Producers Guild Awards ceremony on Saturday January 20, 2018.

Producers Guild of America
Darryl F. Zanuck Award 2017 Winners

Best Film: 
The Shape of Water


Best Animated Film: Coco


Best Documentary Feature: Jane


  • Chasing Coral
  • City of Ghosts
  • Cries from Syria
  • Earth: One Amazing Day
  • Joshua: Teenager vs. Superpower
  • The Newspaperman: The Life and Times of Ben Bradlee

2018 PGA Honorees

  • Milestone Award (recognizing an individual or team who has made historic contributions to the entertainment industry):
    • Donna Langley
  • David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures:
    • Charles Roven
  • Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television:
    • Ryan Murphy
  • Visionary Award (recognizing unique or uplifting contributions to our culture through inspiring storytelling or performance):
    • Ava DuVernay
  • Stanley Kramer Award (an achievement or contribution that illuminates and raises public awareness of important social issues):


Click on links below for other Critics Group Awards and Guild Nominees that have been announced so far for the 2017 / 18 season:

90th Annual Academy Award nominees
Writers Guild of America winners
Directors Guild of America winners
Screen Actors Guild winners
Critics Choice Awards winners
Golden Globe Winners
National Society of Film Critics
Oklahoma Film Critics Circle
Chicago Film Critics Association
Atlanta Film Critics Circle
San Diego Film Critics Society
Philadelphia Film Critics Circle
Toronto Film Critics Association
San Francisco Film Critics Circle
Boston Society of Film Critics
Washington D.C. Film Critics Association
AFI Top 10 of 2017
Los Angeles Film Critics Association
New York Film Critics Circle
The National Board of Review


Leave a Reply