Beantown Critics Love LA LA LAND More Than MANCHESTER (AWARDS 2016)


Manchester by the Sea couldn’t even win in Massachusetts.

Swept up by the craze for Damien Chazelle‘s La La Land, the Boston Society of Film Critics joined other organizations in naming the L.A.-based modern musical as the year’s best film. The Oscar frontrunner, starring Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling, is quickly becoming an awards season phenomenon, as Boston also tabbed it for Best Director and Film Editing.

Meanwhile, the locally set Manchester by the Sea still secured Best Actor for Casey Affleck and Best Screenplay for writer/director Kenneth Lonergan. Both have to be considered Oscar favorites in those respective categories, as does Mahershala Ali who garnered yet another Best Supporting Actor honor for his tender turn in Moonlight.

Best of 2016

Best Picture – La La Land
Best Actor – Casey Affleck, Manchester by the Sea
Best Actress – Isabelle Huppert, Elle and Things to Come
Best Supporting Actor – Mahershala Ali, Moonlight
Best Supporting Actress – Lily Gladstone, Certain Women
Best Director – Damien Chazelle, La La Land
Best Screenplay – Kenneth Lonergan, Manchester by the Sea
Best Cinematography – Chung-hoon Chung, The Handmaiden
Best Documentary – O. J.: Made in America
Best Foreign-Language Film (awarded in memory of Jay Carr) – The Handmaiden
Best Animated Film – Tower
Best Film Editing (awarded in memory of Karen Schmeer) – Tom Cross, La La Land
Best New Filmmaker (awarded in memory of David Brudnoy) – Robert Eggers, The Witch
Best Ensemble Cast – Moonlight
Best Original Score – Mica Levi, Jackie

Click on links below for other Critics Group Awards and Guild Nominees that have been announced so far this season:

Academy Award Nominees
Golden Globe Winners
Screen Actors Guild Winners
Directors Guild of America Nominees
Producers Guild of America Winners
Writers Guild of America Nominees
National Society of Film Critics
New York Film Critics Circle
Los Angeles Film Critics Association
Washington, D.C. Area Film Critics Association
The National Board of Review
Critics’ Choice Awards Winners

Leave a Reply